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UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS WITH THE CARES ACT BONUS

The Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act was signed into law by President Trump
on March 27th, 2020. This $2 trillion economic relief package provides direct economic assistance to
Americans whose lives and livelihoods have been affected by COVID-19 shutdowns.

Among other provisions, the CARES Act provided an additional $600 to the maximum weekly benefits of
Americans receiving Unemployment Insurance (UI). This added benefit was available for 13 weeks, which
expired on July 31%. Due to this sizeable bonus to typical Ul benefits, 68 percent of Ul recipients received
benefits greater than their earnings and one out of five received benefits at least twice as large as their
earnings. !

The following chart shows how combined state and federal UI benefits equate to an hourly wage on a state-
by-state basis.>

Federal Total

Max. CARES Total Benefits Adjusted

State Act Combined | per hour Weekly Hourly

Weekly Weekly Weekly (based on Dependent | Unemployment
State Benefits | Benefit Benefit 40 hr/wk) | Allowance | Benefit Rate
Alabama $275 $600 $875 $21.87
Alaska $370 $600 $970 $24.25 $72 $26.05
Arizona $240 $600 $840 $21.00
Arkansas $451 $600 $1,051 $26.27
California $450 $600 $1,050 $26.25
Colorado $597 $600 $1,197 $29.92
Connecticut $649 $600 $1,249 $31.22 $75 $33.10
Delaware $400 $600 $1,000 $25.00
Florida $275 $600 $875 $21.87
Georgia $365 $600 $965 $24.12
Hawaii $648 $600 $1,248 $31.20
Idaho $414 $600 $1,014 $25.35
Ilinois $471 $600 $1,071 $26.77 $178 $28.72
Indiana $390 $600 $990 $24.75
Iowa $591 $600 $1,191 $29.77 $106 $32.42
Kansas $488 $600 $1,088 $27.20
Kentucky $552 $600 $1,152 $28.80
Louisiana $247 $600 $847 $21.17
Maine $414 $600 $1,014 $25.35 $215 $30.72
Maryland $430 $600 $1,030 $25.75
Massachusetts $823 $600 $1,423 $35.57 $397 $45.50
Michigan $362 $600 $962 $24.05 $209 $26.77




Minnesota $717 $600 $1,317 $32.92
Mississippi $235 $600 $835 $20.87
Missouri $320 $600 $920 $23.00
Montana $552 $600 $1,152 $28.80
Nebraska $440 $600 $1,040 $26.00
Nevada $450 $600 $1,050 $26.25
New Hampshire $427 $600 $1,027 $25.67
New Jersey $696 $600 $1,296 $32.40
New Mexico $492 $600 $1,092 $27.30 $50 $28.55
New York $504 $600 $1,104 $27.60
North Carolina $350 $600 $950 $23.75 $50 $25.00
North Dakota $618 $600 $1,218 $30.45
Ohio $647 $600 $1,247 $31.17 $155 $35.05
Oklahoma $520 $600 $1,120 $28.00
Oregon $648 $600 $1,248 $31.20
Pennsylvania $572 $600 $1,172 $29.30 $8 $29.50
Rhode Island $586 $600 $1,186 $29.65 $144 $33.25
South Carolina $326 $600 $926 $23.15
South Dakota $414 $600 $1,014 $25.35
Tennessee $275 $600 $875 $21.87
Texas $521 $600 $1,121 $28.02
Utah $560 $600 $1,160 $29.00
Vermont $513 $600 $1,113 $27.82
Virginia $378 $600 $978 $24.45
Washington, DC $425 $600 $1,025 $25.62
Washington $790 $600 $1,390 $34.75
West Virginia $424 $600 $1,024 $25.60
Wisconsin $370 $600 $970 $24.25
Wyoming $508 $600 $1,108 $27.70

Please contact the Republican Policy Committee ot RPC@mail.house.gov or (202) 225-4921 with any questions.

! Peter Ganong, et al., US Unemployment Insurance Replacement Rates During the Pandemic (2020).
2 Chart compiled by RPC using data from https:/fileunemployment.org/unemployment-benefits/unemployment-benefits-comparison-
by-state/ (August 06,2020).
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