Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


The United States House of Representatives Republican Policy Committee (RPC) was first established in 1949. Representative Gary Palmer of Alabama was elected by House Republicans as the 18th chairman of the committee during the 116th Congress and is the fourth ranking member of House Republican leadership.

The RPC serves as an advisory committee to House Republicans and provides a forum for Republican Members to discuss legislative proposals and current topics before the House. The committee produces issue backgrounders and conservative policy solutions to the House Republican Conference. 

In 1946, the Joint Committee on the Organization of Congress made recommendations for restructuring Congress, which included the creation of a policy committee in both the House & Senate to “serve as a formal council to meet regularly with the Executive, to facilitate the formulation and carrying out of national policy, and to improve relationships.” The House Republican Policy Committee was then established by Conference Resolution on January 26, 1949.

Republican Policy Committee Chairs:

  • Joseph William Martin, Jr. of Massachusetts (1949-1959)
  • John William Byrnes of Wisconsin (1959-1965)
  • John Jacob Rhodes of Arizona (1965-1973)
  • Barber Consable of New York (1973-1977)
  • Del M Clawson of California (1977-1979)
  • Bud Shuster of Pennsylvania (1979-1981)
  • Dick Cheney of Wyoming ( 1981-1987)
  • Jerry Lewis of California (1987-1989)
  • Mickey Edwards of Oklahoma (1989-1993)     
  • Henry Hyde of Illinois (1993-1995)
  • Chris Cox  of California ( 1995-2005)
  • John Shadegg of Arizona (2005-2006)
  • Adam Putnam of Florida (2006-2007)
  • Thad McCotter of Michigan (2007-2011)
  • Tom Price of Georgia (2011-2013)
  • James Lankford of Oklahoma (2013-2015)
  • Luke Messer of Indiana (2015-2018)
  • Gary Palmer of Alabama (2019-Present)